The Academic Service Learning (ASL) Advisory Board has a website at The ASL membership consists of engaged NMU faculty, staff, administrators, and students who work to incorporate community service as a means of helping NMU students gain a deeper understanding of academic course objectives, acquire new knowledge, develop professional expertise, and engage in civic activity. The current ASL co-chairs are Jennifer James-Mesloh and Heidi Stevenson.